Tool Review: Brizman Rotor Truing Fork

Birzman Rotor Truing Fork
copyright 2014 quiet bicycle mechanic

A coworker of mine found Birzman Tools while perusing a supplier’s online catalog during work. It was work related obviously. Being a purchaser of the “blue tool” company’s products for a long time, it’s nice to see another competitor on the market. It wasn’t until I left the full time bicycle job and went to part time that I got to put my greasy mitts on a Birzman tool. More specifically, the Birzman Rotor Truing Fork.

I haven’t seen these in stores yet, at least the local dives. Blue tool is pretty entrenched as you can imagine. If you aren’t sure what I am talking about when I refer to the “blue tool,” just check in to your local LBS, they’ll clear it up for you. I’m not mentioning them by name just to keep you focused on this tool. Read my thoughts after the break.

I’m not going to do an unboxing video. I think those are kind of lame. Really? Do you want to watch someone unbox a product? Reminds you of those Christmases at your cousin’s where they unbox their vastly superior present. Don’t worry, I got over that a long time ago. Besides, this tool doesn’t come in a box.

The tool itself is made out of quality, cast steel. Seems to be the same material most others are made of. It’s been plated to make it shiny and corrosion resistant. As you can see by the picture, it has a vinyl handle cover in a neat two tone black and green motif that is Birzman’s look.

Upon using the tool, it works. What can I say? Most tools tend to when made by companies that specialize in tools and not eBay sales. So I’ll list the pros and cons for you.

Pros

  • Perfect size in terms of the handle. There are truing forks out there that have skinny little handles. I like some heft to my tools. Quit snickering.
  • Good looking. I like good looking tools. I’m vain.
  • Hole for a peg hook/nail/rope. Gotta hang your fork somewhere. Proper tool care.

Cons

  • There are two slots. The long one is generally used for one-piece rotors, i.e. the ones stamped out of a sheet of steel. The short one is usually used for the two-piece rotors where there is an aluminum spider with a steel brake rotor riveted to its arms. The short slot when used has the long end poking into the spoke. Though I found it rare, you have to find a spot where you don’t hit spokes to use it.
  • It performs marginally well as a fork.
So the takeaway from this is that the Birzman Rotor Truing Fork is a decent tool. That con is really a nitpick and doesn’t have me flinging the tool across the shop in ergonomic outrage. If I didn’t already have the blue tool version, I would most definitely pick this one up for my personal toolbox. Also, check out the other Birzman products while you’re at it. Very nice tools, again, quit with the snickering. I hope to use more of them in the future.
Leave a Reply

