License Plate Concept for Cyclists: That Would Be Negative Ghost Rider

An Australian designer came up with a concept for cyclist to brandish a license plate. We cyclists may not be the most stylish lot, but I would have to say that this would be a negative; visually. Not to mention the neck muscle fatigue from wearing this, thing.

If you believe cyclists should be licensed, fine. That’s your opinion and I respect that. Unfortunately this is not the prettiest way of going about it. I’m more for cyclist education than licensing anyway, and I won’t get on my soapbox for that. I’m sure there would be a way to incorporate a license plate on a bicycle/cyclist without making it look, um, huge.

One thought on “License Plate Concept for Cyclists: That Would Be Negative Ghost Rider

  1. I’m with you on this. My city recently passed an ordinance to have license plates on bikes. It’s ugly. Very ugly. Their counter argument is to prevent theft and for easy tracking in the event the bike gets stolen. I’ve seen plenty of bikes getting stolen, only 1 out of 10 are retrieved and returned to the owner. And that’s because they tipped (pay extra money for look outs) the “black market” as to where the stolen bikes are getting sold. We should push more on cyclist education and of course, respect and road sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

