SRAM GX 11 speed cassette

It’s Been Far Too Long and Here is a Post About SRAM GX, Woot!

Have you ever had the best of intentions in returning, but get waylaid by life? Yeah, that happened to me during the time between the last post and this one. As some of you may know, I returned to bike voodoo wrenching full time, so I have been a little busy. But here we go, a new post, about SRAM GX, woot!

I’m not a component fan boy. I like all the shifting systems out there, even MicroShift (that’s another post). I do have my preferences though. On the road bike, I prefer Shimano. Off-road, I prefer SRAM, though the SRAM group on my CX bike has been frustrating me over the years. Not that it’s a bad setup, but I have a hard time feeling the shift when my heart rate is maxed out and I have tunnel vision going. Also, those anodized shift paddles get pretty slick when dusty, a common complaint among riders I know who use them. (I like fingerless gloves when racing in warmer weather, but that may change if I stick with SRAM)

Let’s check out the latest after the break.

Think of the GX groups as the groups that lie between the venerable X5 through X9 series and the X1 to XX series. It is the entry into the X1/XX technologies which you will see in the images:

All the usual suspects are there: X.D. cassette body, 10-42 cassette, trigger shifters, etc. My favorite? The XX based grip shift. I get to relive 90s mountain biking all over again! The group is available in 1×11, 2×11, and 2×10. Not sure of price points yet, but it would be awesome to see as an OEM setup on some mountain bikes.

As for me, I am already dreaming about my 1×11 (or maybe 2×11) Grip Shift set up. I just have to decide on 27.5 or 29. That’s another post.

 

Leave a Reply

